MakePE: Adding WinPE Drivers


You should finally have a good WinPE up to now, and are ready to add Drivers.  MakePE uses a flat directory for installing Drivers, and these should be created automatically for you.

If you look in MakePE\Optional\Drivers, you should see these directories.

2015-10-14_13-17-45


Simply place your extracted Drivers in the appropriate WinPE.  In the example below, the Surface Gigabit Ethernet Adapter Drivers were added to WinPE 5 x64\Microsoft.  No worries about subdirectories, they are handled automatically.  Additionally in this example, I extracted the drivers from the Dell WinPE 10 Driver Pack.  Now the next time I run one of my Build Scripts, my Drivers will be added to WinPE

2015-10-14_13-16-30


The additional benefit is that I can take these directories and import the complete WinPE Version Architecture directory into SCCM, allowing me to keep the same source for WinPE, WinRE, MDT, and SCCM.

